Sydney South Planning Panel


The Chair of the Sydney South Planning Panel is Morris Iemma, who is the District Commissioner for the Sydney South district.

State Members
Bruce McDonald

Bruce McDonald has extensive experience in local government and planning, having served with Penrith City Council in a range of planning roles for over 35 years, culminating in an appointment as Deputy General Manager.
While now retired from full time employment Bruce maintains a keen interest in planning and local government issues.
Bruce is a Fellow of the Planning Institute of Australia

Nicole Gurran

Nicole Gurran is Professor of Urban and Regional Planning at the University of Sydney. Nicole has led and collaborated on numerous research projects, with a focus on affordable housing, and has worked with local and State government in several roles related to planning and housing issues. Nicole directs the University’s Australian Housing and Urban Research Institute (AHURI) node.

Nicole lives in Sydney and has a Masters degree in Urban and Regional Planning from the University of Sydney. She is a Fellow of the Planning Institute of Australia and an Executive Member of the International Urban Planning and Environment Association. Nicole also has a Doctorate of Philosophy, a Graduate Certificate in Higher Education and a Bachelor of Arts, all from the University of Sydney.

Council Members

The council members joining the State members to form a Planning Panel will change, depending on the council area in which the matter under consideration is located.

Click here to find out who your council appointed members are.


If a permanent member has declared a conflict of interest or is unavailable fora meeting, an alternate can be selected from a pool of alternates who act for all regions.

For a list of all alternate members, please click here

Last Updated 17-Oct-2017